New European Ensemble

New European Ensemble spelar Sofia Gubaidulina

Konsert med verk av Sofia Gubaidulina, framförda av holländska New European Ensemble.

Ur programmet:

Sofia Gubaidulina - Repentance (2008) för cello, kontrabas och tre gitarrer

Sofia Gubaidulina - Sotto Voce (2010/13) för viola, kontrabas och två gitarrer

Konserten arrangeras i samarbete mellan KDM, Samtida Musik och Svensk Musikvår.

July 1981, Sortavala ©Photo by Dmitri N. Smirnov
July 1981, Sortavala ©Photo by Dmitri N. Smirnov



Jacob Kellerman, gitarr
Franz Hallasz, gitarr
Lucas Brar, gitarr
Emlyn Stam, viola
Willem Stam, cello
James Oesi, kontrabas


The Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina is one of the prominent musical voices of the past half a century. Her works are well loved worldwide for their introspective spirituality and innate sense of drama and development. The New European Ensemble presents two of her recent chamber works Sotto Voce (2010) and Repentence (2008). The guitar and double bass are among her favourite instruments and are featured prominently in both works. Sotto Voce for viola, bass and two guitars is built out of quasi-improvisatory materials derived from the interval of a minor second that traverses a wide range of textures. Repentence for cello, double bass and three guitars is a kind of cello concerto, with virtuosic and melodic cello writing supported by the rich harmonic chordal material in the guitars.